Middle School Religion
St. Anne & St. Jude Catholic School strives to put God's Word into the everyday lives of our students. This goal is carried out in several ways:

1. First, The Knights of Columbus generously donate a personal copy of the New American Bible to each new middle school student.   

2. Second, the middle school religion courses enable the students to explore and compare the information presented in their religion textbooks with deeper meaning revealed by reading the corresponding Biblical passages. As students come to terms with God's revelation, they are then encouraged to compare what they have learned and how they are living their lives.

3. Third, each student keeps a journal in which they reflect on a specific question or thought given to them as a homework assignment. Their journals are private and as such, provide the student with a document of their journey with God in a way that allows them to be open and honest with themselves without fear of censure or ridicule. 

The 5th, 7th and 8th grades use the Faith First Legacy Edition textbook series. The 6th grade textbook is Christ Our Life. These textbooks are "in conformity with the Catechism of the Catholic Church" by the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops. Several methods of learning, including prayer, oral and silent reading, skits, student reports, as well as service projects and activities encourage students to integrate their faith into their everyday lives, adopt a generous and compassionate spirit, and become more aware of the needs of others.

The 5th grade book is divided into the four pillars of the Catholic faith:      
     "We Believe" (Analysis of the Apostles' Creed)
     "We Worship" (Study of the Liturgy and the Sacraments)
     "We Live" (Teachings on Christian Morality)     
     "We Pray" (Prayer and Spirituality)

The 6th grade covers the Old Testament and is divided into five units. 
     Unit 1:  Overview of the Bible, God's Creation through the story of Noah.        
     Unit 2: God forms a family of faith which covers Abraham to Joseph.     
     Unit 3: Moses; the exodus and the promised land.  
     Unit 4: The Judges through David and Solomon. 
     Unit 5: The Prophets.

The 7th grade covers "The Mystery of God" in the first semester and "Jesus in the New Testament" during the second semester:
     "The Mystery of God" compares God's promise given in the Old Testament with the revelations given in the New 
     "Jesus in the New Testament" is an in- depth study of the Gospels, the Acts of the Apostles, the Epistles, and the 
      Book of Revelation.

The 8th grade covers "Church and Sacraments" and "Church History" during the first semester. "Morality" is the focus of the second semester.
     "Church and Sacraments" is a brief overview of the seven Sacraments of the Catholic Church. ·        
     "Church History" reviews Christian Historical events beginning with the resurrection of Jesus, through the rise of
      Christendom, the Reformation, and the Church in the New World.       
     "Morality" --through the study of the Ten Commandments and the Beatitudes-- teaches students how to make
      successful moral decisions throughout life.

The curriculum, while based on the teachings of the Roman Catholic Church, truly embodies the word catholic, meaning universal. We respect and welcome all faiths and try to incorporate various worship practices and beliefs into our discussions.  



St. Anne & St. Jude
Catholic School
Lower/Middle Campus
11 S. Magnolia Street
Sumter, S.C. 29150
(803) 775-3632
FAX: (803) 938-9074

Copyright © 2019
St. Anne & St. Jude
Catholic School
Upper Campus

611 W. Oakland Ave.
Sumter, S.C. 29150

(803) 972-1121
FAX: (803) 938-9074